I feel like the month of March flew by.  And even though Boston seems to be resisting letting go of winter, I am hopeful for the arrival of warm weather, spring blooms, and afternoons on outdoor patios.  But in the meantime, here’s a bit of what I was up to the last few weeks:

Barbara Lynch Rocks One Friday afternoon, I joined my co-worker Pete Crowley on a “research” trip to Sportello for lunch.  After nibbling on amazingly delicious things like braised kale, gnocchi with porcini & peas, and baccala, Pete’s old friend from the restaurant biz, Barbara Lynch herself, took us on a tour of her dominion on Congress Street.  Through the dining room of Menton to the vast kitchens complete with fish & meat fridges and prep rooms to Drink’s booze storage room, that is one amazing place!

Tap Wars at Post 390 The first week of each month, Post 390 hosts a Tap Wars—three beers in the same style compete for a tap spot.  For a very reasonable $8, you get a flight of three 6 oz beers and then vote for your favorite.  March’s battle was Abbey-Dubbel Style Ales (that’s Belgian Doubles for us beer neophytes).  The battle was between Ommengang Abbey Ale (Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY), Allagash Dubbel Ale (Allagash Brewing Co., Portland, ME) and Chimay Red (Chimay, Belgium).  My vote went to Ommengang!

Metamorphosis To begin my birthday celebration, Brian, Jeff and I lunched at Eastern Standard and my first birthday cocktail was a Metamorphosis. Featuring the herbally bitter amazingly delicious aperitif Becherovka from the Czech Republic, this is one delicious drink.  The menu describes the drink as “transformative,” and I was reminded of Ovid’s Metamorphoses, an ancient text about the relationships between humans and gods.  His poem begins: I want to speak about bodies changed into new forms. You, gods, since you are the ones who alter these, and all other things, inspire my attempt”.  I couldn’t think of a better way to start my 36th year.

Metamorphosis (created by Jackson Cannon)

2 oz Becherovka

1 oz lemon juice

1 oz honey syrup

My birthday celebration continued throughout the weekend with a visit to the Bauhaus style Gropius House in Lincoln, cocktails at Temple Bar (the Aged Negroni is really good!), dinner and drinks at Russell House (and a shot of Fernet with Aaron), and brunch at The Buttery.  It was a fantastic birthday weekend that reminded me how fortunate I am to have such wonderful friends.

Cheers!

