The summer of boozy popsicles continues.  On Friday I went to visit with the folks at Privateer Rum in Ipswich, MA (more on that trip later).  The bottle of silver rum that came home with me was winking at me, just asking to be used in a Mojito popsicle.  These pack a bit of a punch, but that is easily masked by the sweet and tart flavors of a classic Mojito.

Here’s the recipe I used (again this is my version inspired by various recipes I found online):

Mojito Popsicles

3 oz white rum

3 oz lime juice, strained

 2 oz mint simple syrup*

1 cup lemon-lime soda

1/4 cup water

handful of mint leaves

Combine ingredients in a blender. Strain (I didn’t want lots of mint bits in the popsicle; I think a coffee filter works best) and then pour into popsicle molds.

* To make mint simple syrup, heat small pan of water with a handful of torn mint leaves.  Just before the water boils, remove from heat and let cool. Strain and use a 1:1 ratio water to sugar to make syrup.

To yummy frozen Mojitos! Cheers!

This is the second in a summer series about popsicles. Check out Boozy Pops #1: Orange-grapefruit Aperol.

