After submitting final grades from my Tufts class, I thought I deserved a yum cocktail.  So I began perusing The Art of the Bar, a great book from my friend Emily.  So many recipes looked good but the Singapore Sling caught my attention.  And surprisingly, I had all the ingredients.  Even though I feel like this is may be more appropriate to be drinking this while sitting poolside instead of on a cold January evening, I thought what the hell, this drink sounds good right about now.

The Singapore Sling was developed at a hotel bar in Singapore in the early 1900s.  There is a lot going on in this drink.  It packs quite a punch with gin, cherry brandy, Cointreau, and Benedictine.  Fruit juices, pineapple and lime, and grenadine add in some sweet and tart.  A few dashes of Angostura give a hint of bitters. Then the whole thing is topped off with a little soda water to add a subtle fizz.  This is a pretty drinkable combination, despite its intense booziness.

I love this vintage image!

There are lots of recipes out there with slight variations in measurements of the 8 ingredients.  Here’s the recipe I used:

Singapore Sling

2 oz gin

¾ oz Cherry Heering

2 tsp Benedictine

2 tsp Cointreau

2 oz pineapple juice

¾ oz lime juice

2 dashes grenadine

1 dash Angostura bitters

soda water

Shake all ingredients except soda water.  Pour into tall glass filled with ice. Top with soda water.  Garnish with brandied cherries and an orange slice.

Forget being poolside or needing one of those paper umbrellas, a Singapore Sling is good anytime.  Cheers!

