Even my day job surrounds me with boozey libations.  This is a drawing made with beer. For opening week at the Gardner Museum (where I spend my days), Italian artist Cesare Pietroiusti led visitors in a drawing project in which ordinary materials like beer, tea, coffee, ink and salt water were used to create magical works of art.   You’d be surprised how beautiful these ordinary liquids can be.  Impermanence is a theme of the project.  Each visitor creates a drawing, but they must then leave it for another visitor to take.  He/she then takes a drawing created by a previous day’s visitor.  And each drawing has a condition under which it must eventually be passed along.  This one reads: the holder of this drawing commits to give it away, three months after having received it, to a person of their choice who lives south of them.  So, you never know, any friends living south of Massachusetts just may get this drawing one day.

The reopening of the museum with its new addition by architect Renzo Piano has kept me quite busy these last few months– hence the infrequent posts.  A couple benefits of the last couple weeks of working long days were meeting and watching Bill Cunningham do his thing and hearing YoYo Ma play.   The museum is now open.  I will rest up and be back up to more cocktail adventures very soon.  Cheers!

And here's the drawing I made

